## AGENDA

# To be considered at the Annual Meeting of the County Council on <u>Tuesday 9 May 2006</u> at 10.00 a.m.



### LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT, 1972

Notice is hereby given that the Annual Meeting of the WARWICKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL will be held at the SHIRE HALL, WARWICK on TUESDAY 9 MAY, 2006 at 10.00 A.M.

### AGENDA

#### 1. Election of Chair

To elect a Chair for the ensuing municipal year. The Chair to make a declaration of acceptance of office.

### 2. Election of Vice-chair

To elect a Vice-Chair for the ensuing municipal year. The Vice-Chair to make a declaration of acceptance of office.

#### 3. General

### (1) Apologies.

To receive any apologies for absence.

### (2) Members' Declarations of Personal and Prejudicial Interests.

Members are reminded that they should declare the existence and nature of their personal interests at the commencement of the relevant item (or as soon as the interest becomes apparent). If that interest is a prejudicial interest the Member must withdraw from the room unless one of the exceptions applies.

#### (3) Minutes

To confirm the accuracy of the minutes of the meeting held on 11 April 2006 (copy enclosed).

### (4) Chair's Announcements, Correspondence, Petitions

### 4. Changes to the Constitution

A report of the Strategic Director of Performance and Development is enclosed.

Statutory regulations have been issued that require the Council to make changes to its Constitution. This includes changes to the list of plans that local authorities are required to prepare and publish. This report sets out the changes and also proposes the establishment of an Audit and Standards Committee (that would replace the current Standards Committee and separate Audit Panel).

### 5. Appointment of Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council and Appointment of Cabinet

A report of Strategic Director of Performance and Development is enclosed.

[The following notice of motion has been received concerning the appointment of Cabinet:

Proposer: Councillor Jerry Roodhouse Seconder: Councillor Sarah Boad

"That there be nine members of the Cabinet, and that it is made up of four members of the Conservative Group, three members of the Labour Group and two members of the Liberal Democrat Group."]

### 6. Appointment to Committees, Other Council Bodies and External Organisations.

A report of the Strategic Director of Performance and Development is enclosed.

The arrangements previously agreed by Council for its committees altered the usual arrangements for the allocation of seats on member bodies in accordance with the political balance requirements under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. The continuation of the arrangements is dependent on no one voting against them.

### 7. Children and Young People's Plan

Report of the Strategic Director for Children, Young People and Families.

Cabinet Portfolio Holders: Councillors Izzi Seccombe, John Burton and Peter Fowler.

The Cabinet on 6 April considered the first draft Children and Young People's Plan. The plan is a framework for an intensive 18 month programme of interaction and consultation with partners and stakeholders (especially school representatives, local communities, children and young people).

The Cabinet has recommended that Council approve the plan for further development.

### 8. Annual Report of Standards Committee

The Annual Report of the Council's Standards Committee is being circulated separately.

### 9. Monitoring of Decisions under the Urgency and Call-In Procedure

A report from the Strategic Director of Performance and Development is enclosed.

### 10. Notices of Motions (Standing Order 5)

Only one notice of motion has been received and this is set out at item 5 above.

### 11. Question Time (Standing Order 7)

Cabinet portfolio holders and Chairs of Overview and Scrutiny Committees and Area Committees will be invited to respond to any questions from members. A period of up to one hour is allocated for question time. Extension beyond this time is at the discretion of the Chair.

### 12. Any other items of urgent business

To consider any other items that the Chair considers are urgent.

**Please note that at 11.30 a.m.** or on the rising of the Council, whichever is later, the **Members Club** will meet. All Councillors are Members and are requested to remain in the council chamber for this meeting.

JIM GRAHAM Chief Executive Shire Hall, Warwick. April 2006

For further information regarding these agenda papers please contact Janet Purcell, Member Services Manager, Performance and Development Directorate. Tel: 01926 412320 or Email: janetpurcell@warwickshire.gov.uk

### WARWICKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL MEMBERS WHO ARE ALSO BOROUGH AND DISTRICT COUNCILLORS

### Personal interests relating to any item on the agenda arising by virtue of the members serving as district/borough councillors are declared below:

Councillors	Member of District/Borough Council
John Appleton	Stratford on Avon District Council
Peter Barnes	Stratford on Avon District Council
Les Caborn	Warwick District Council
Tom Cavanagh	Rugby Borough Council
Alan Cockburn	Warwick District Council
Gordon Collett	Rugby Borough Council
Jose Compton	Warwick District Council
Chris Davis	Warwick District Council
Richard Dodd	Rugby Borough Council
Michael Doody	Warwick District Council
Peter Fowler	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Eithne Goode	Warwick District Council
Colin Hayfield	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Pat Henry	Nuneaton & Bedworth Borough Council
Bob Hicks	Nuneaton & Bedworth Borough Council
Richard Hobbs	Stratford on Avon District Council
Bernard Kirton	Warwick District Council
Joan Lea	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Anita Macaulay	Stratford on Avon District Council
Brian Moss	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Mike Perry	Stratford on Avon District Council
Jerry Roodhouse	Rugby Borough Council
John Ross	Nuneaton & Bedworth Borough Council
Chris Saint	Stratford on Avon District Council
Izzi Seccombe	Stratford on Avon District Council
Dave Shilton	Warwick District Council
Mick Stanley	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Bob Stevens	Stratford on Avon District Council
Ray Sweet	North Warwickshire Borough Council
Heather Timms	Rugby Borough Council
Sid Tooth	North Warwickshire Borough Council